Home Politics Karu LGA : Portfolio sharing may tear APC, elected politicians apart

Karu LGA : Portfolio sharing may tear APC, elected politicians apart


By Francis Nansak

Sources closed to the newly inaugurated karu local government council chairman Honourable James Thomas and some of the councilors have alleged that there was brewing tension over who assume what position at the executive and legislative arm of the LGA.

With the swearing I’m of the council chairman, honourable James Thomas, along with 12 other in Lafia the state capital ,by the governor, Engineer Abdullahi Sule on Thursday, after the concluded state election last Wednesday the positions within the council that is lobbied for are that of the executive secretary and who becomes ,the speaker of the council legislators.

This according to the source who declined from having his new on print alleged that the two positions , especially that of the secretary rest in the powers of the party to producing who takes over as scribe of the council.

While that of the speaker is the exclusive prerogative of the legislators and may be the executive chairman depending on whose interest is respected.

According to the source” There was a little pandemonium since Monday as the two positions became highly contestable where some stakeholders in Karu among the All progressive Congress are demanding that they be given a chance to nominate who becomes secretary and the speaker of the local government area.

” So as it stands now the community where the next secretary should be from as according to plans on ground is Panda, development area ,while the speaker is supposed to be from Karshi Development Area,but a stakeholder from the area will not let go as he wants the speaker to come from Karshi and Uke ward to be precise” The source revealed.

METRO DAILY NIGERIA recalled that last Wednesday, the Nasarawa State government, through the State independent electoral commission, headed by Barrister Ayuba Wandai, conducted election to elect local government chairmen in the 13 LGAs of Nasarawa State and honourable James Thomas, along with all the 11 APC councillorship candidates were declared winners and sworn in on Thursday by the governor Engineer Abdullahi Sule

Get Connected Without Data on Facebook

Receive Alerts On:
 Facebook: MetroDailyNG, Twitter: @MetroDailyNG

Share Your Stories With Us:
Email: info@metrodailyng.com

Leave a Reply