By Sarauniya G Usman

The Minister of Communications, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, on Tuesday, inaugurated members of the boards of agencies and parastatals under the ministry in Abuja.

While inaugurating the board, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, Minister of Communications, charged the members of board to take their assignment with utmost responsibility and achieve the set goals of the Federal Government.

Shittu, also attributed the major problem besetting the ICT sector in government institutions to inadequate synergy, urging members of the boards to collaborate together towards repositioning the sector for better service delivery.

“I urge you to make this synergy a core principle in your various spheres of authority to facilitate seamless development in the sector. “I have no doubt that you are experienced and eminently qualified for the task ahead. “I must remind you however that your new role confers on you both privileges and great responsibilities requiring high level of commitment and urgency,”He said

The Permanent Secretary,communication ministry, Abdulaziz Abdullahi, , said the inauguration would provide accelerated development in the ICT sector in the country.

Also Read  FAAC: FG, states again, fail to share May revenue

He noted that access to ICT has become critical for participation in the economic, political and social life both at the national and global levels. “New technologies such as internet f things, cloud computing, mobile money, etc, are also introducing new possibilities and therefore it is crucial that Nigeria annex the potential of these technologies to promote social and economic development in the country”.

“While the ministry is leading the charge in the overall coordination and oversight of the ICT sector, the agencies under it, which boards are being inaugurated today are established to provide special services to the populace.

Earlier on, Postmaster-General of the Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST), Bisi Adegbuyi, said that the newly-inaugurated board of the agency is to ensure effective corporate governance of the organisation.

According to him, the board will play a complementary role for the organisation to achieve its goals of effective service delivery to its teeming customers and revenue generation for the government. “Corporate governance is sin-qua non to effective service delivery and also you have to form policies and general framework of where you are going because we are reforming and repositioning NIPOST.

Also Read  Naira rebounds against dollar

“For an organisation like NIPOST that belongs to an international organisation like the Universal Postal Union, we must take decisions expeditiously and in businesslike manner. “ We cannot afford to be left behind in what other postal organisations all over the world are doing, that is why the inauguration of the board is coming at the right time so that we hit the ground rolling to leverage on the opportunities we have.

Adegbuyi said NIPOST was undergoing a restructuring and modernisation process aimed at a thriving market-driven entrepreneurial conglomerate focusing on innovation. He said the board was expected to amend all existing Postal Services laws, enact the Postal Reform law, enhance revenue generation, align work performance and support Federal Government in reducing unemployment. He said that the reform process would rejuvenate staff competencies and skills as well as develop sustainable partnerships.

Responding on behalf of other boards’ members, the Chairman of NIGCOMSAT Board, Chief George Moghalu, said members were fully conscious of the enormity of the responsibility before them.

Also Read  We won’t force companies to list on NSE – Osinbajo

Moghalu, who assured the minister of their unflinching support towards realising the ministry’s goal, thanked President Muhammadu Buhari for finding them worthy for the appointments.

The agencies that were inaugurated include National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), the Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST) and the Nigerian Communication Satellite Limited (NIGCOMSAT).

About 36 members were appointed for the three boards. Other chairmen of the boards include Prof Adeolu Akande (NITDA) and Barrister Maimuna Yahaya Abubakar (NIPOST) while the secretaries of the boards are Director General of NITDA, Isa Pantami (NITDA); Postmaster General of NIPOST, Bisi Adegbuyi (NIPOST) and the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Communications, Abdulaziz Abdullahi, for NIGCOMSAT.